The Big Three-O

Well, it’s here. 30. It’s the birthday I’ve been dreading for the past five years. Bye-bye youth; hello ‘establishment.’ As Zach and I have been talking about why I’ve been mourning the coming day, we realized we had stubbled on to yet another interesting difference between men and women. Men, for the most part, look forward to thirty. “I am really a man. I am really an adult. The increasing age gives me creditials. etc.” But women do not always cherish the additional age markers. We want to hold on to our ‘youthful beauty’ as long as possible. And thirty is definitely one of those markers. But, does it have to be so bad as I’ve imagined? No! I’m here and I am not suddenly transformed into a completely different looking person. I am just one day older than I was yesterday. I recently read a book entry by Grace Fox (Moving from Fear to Freedom). One of the fears she wrote about is age. I could really resonate with that! However, her insights in the chapter woke me up to the fact: having a mental pity party for myself and birthday is neither healthy or productive. She goes on to mention there are so many opportunities for ministry to women as the years add up. With the experiences we have gained as wives and mothers, women will have so much to offer with advice and mentoring as they get older. And women with a better attitude live healthier and longer lives too.

One Response

  1. I totally forgot you were a year older! Happy (belated) birthday! May I reach 30 as gracefully as you!

Leave a Reply

