New Year’s Resolutions

So here we are at the end of another year. The most frequently asked question these days is: “What is your New Year’s Resolution?” Ummm. Black stare. Some years, I plan weeks in advance, ‘this will be the year I completely clutter-bust our house!’ Other years I have completely forgotten until the New Year is upon us! In fact, for the past couple years my husband and I get to New Year’s Eve and wonder if we really want to lose the sleep to stay up until midnight! I know, pathetic. But I guess it comes with stage of life we are in: sleep deprived parents of small children! I’m not sure we’re going to make it to midnight tomorrow, but I have given the whole resolution thing some thought this week. There are so many things I want to change in my life: clutter, organization, sleep, reading more, less pop (can’t give up the chocolate, don’t even ask), etc. But, these are all just surface behaviors. I think the real issue here is that I need to be less selfish and pursue loving God in all I do. The Bible gives us a pretty good definition of love in 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.” Hmmm, low on patience these days. And not always so kind and quickly forgiving. The Bible’s definition of love is so easy to say and type. Not so easy to practically put into practice as I am I running after my middle child who has just upended her full cup of orange juice onto her sister and is now chasing said sister through the house making animal sounds at her, all the while the baby I am holding has just completely spit up on her outfit (and now mine); or when my (dear, sweet, incredible) hubby leaves the only container of milk out on the counter at five in the morning and I discover it when I get to the kitchen at 6:45AM; or when I have nearly completed making dinner only to realize the last ingredient I need is incognito! As I look back on the this past year I see my stress levels rising, my sleep levels decreasing and my tongue getting sharper. However, my circumstances does not give me license to draw inward and lessen how much I love others (my hubby, my children, my friends). So, where does this ranting and sorting leave my New Year’s Resolution? To Love. To Love God enough to ask Him daily for strength to Love others, and to make the time to just Love God, Himself.

Leave a Reply

