Making a Dress

For the past few days, my oldest daughter has been insisting that she needs to make a dress. This morning, I thought, why not? So here’s the dress we made! Thanks to my hubby for helping to photo journal the project! šŸ™‚

First we selected fabric from my big box of sewing materials:

Next I took some measurements:

Then I made a pattern:

Making sure it “fits” so far:

Pinning the pattern on:

Cutting the fabric:

Pinning and basting:

Is it still fitting?:

Sewing and hemming:

All done:

8 Responses

  1. I am uber impressed!

  2. I just got a sewing machine (my mom's hand-me-down). I have no idea how to sew. I could use your expertise!

  3. I'm so impressed – with both of you! What domestic divas!

  4. Awww, so cute! What a fun project to do with your little girl. I can't wait to get my craft area set up in the new house so I can start sewing again!Toni

  5. That is too cute!!! What a great memory moment for you two! šŸ™‚

  6. Absolutely adorable!

  7. Very nice! and so quick. I have stacks of material or clothes I plan on using to make something else with-just waiting on a machine. I am NO good at sewing by hand!

  8. I am so jealous! I want a new dress:) When I was a little girl, my grandma tried to teach me to sew and I declined. Now, I wish I could be 10 again for her to teach me. Your daughter is a lucky girl.

Leave a Reply

