(Relatively) Clean House by 7PM

I love a clean house. Who doesn’t? Most people I know that live in cluttered and messy houses wishes it was clean. And of course, I would NEVER be one of those that has ANY clutter or mess lingering in my home. Nope. Perfect little clean house.

(cough, cough)

Right. So, you might be wondering why in the world, then, do I claim my house is clean by 7PM? Great question. The answer is quite simple: The bare essentials are ALL done by 7PM. This means the dishes are done, floors are swept, toys are picked up, etc. I began a new system a couple months ago and have been so pleased with the results! I discovered I am not one of those moms who waits until the kids are in bed to do my house maintenance/cleaning. I have my kids help me during the day with a few things they are able to do and then while they are finishing up their toy cleaning and occasionally watching a evening video (Dora, VeggieTales, etc.)I will quickly finish up what absolutely needs to be done for daily sanitary and cleaning. This also means when all of my kids are in bed at 7:00 (or sometimes 7:30PM), I don’t have a pile of dishes screaming, “Wash me!” I had started to notice that right after I put my kids to bed, I started to mentally shut down. Especially on the couple nights a week my hubby either has to work or is at a Church rehearsal. I know many moms treasure the time the kids are in bed as a time to clean, etc., but I had to recognize that just didn’t work for me! Now, if I happen to still have energy when I put them to bed, I am free to either work on a project that I WANT to work on, or do a deep cleaning or organizing project, or spend time with my hubby on the evenings he’s at home, etc. I have found not having anything that I absolutely HAVE to do after my kids goes to bed is so beneficial for my sanity as well! Having a couple hours with either my hubby or by myself has been so transforming in how I feel and interact as a wife and mom! And well–this definitely works for me!!

This post is linked to Works for Me Wednesday at We are That Family.

5 Responses

  1. inspiration, indeed! I feel so wiped out by the time my girls are in bed that I just don't want to do anything else. I am going to give this a try, I think I just might like it! 🙂

  2. THat is a really good idea! I don't like saving cleaning for the evening either. Unfortunately sometimes it just doesn't get done and then I have a pile of dishes waiting for me in the morning. THat isn't very fun either!

  3. Kyna, I bet you do feel wiped out when your kids go to bed with working too! I don't know how you do it–you're amazing! Abbi, I very ashamed to admit I have had a few mornings when I walked into my kitchen and was greeted with a pile of dishes that had not been done the night before. There is nothing like hunting for cups and bowls for breakfast only to realize that they're waiting to be washed. We only just recently got a dishwasher, so we've been doing them by hand for a few years (I think I calculated I was spending nearly two hours a day doing dishes–yikes)! However, not being able to find dishes I needed the next morning, on top of started out my day emotionally exhausted by looking at a dirty kitchen was what motivated me to find a way try different things to change! So worth it (and worth the $30 I spent at a garage sale for the portable dishwasher too)!!

  4. I've done that and I love it!

  5. I have been trying really hard to have the kitchen all clean before going to bed. My evenings are the worst for me having energy (I have fibromyalgia) so it's hard to get the dishes done. But I found it takes at least 1 hr out of my morning routine if I have dishes to do from the night before.I like this idea of 7 p.m., I will give it a try. I need to relax more in the evenings.~Liz

Leave a Reply

