An educational lunch?

I tried something a little different today at lunch! I got out our scripture memory cards and some craft sticks and my kids had a BLAST interacting with me and each other.
First I started with the craft sticks.

It was indirect, but we were working on beginning math! “If we have 5 sticks on the table, and I take away two sticks, how many are still on the table?” “If I have one stick on the table and I put one more stick on the table, how many are now on the table?” “What shape is this? How many sides does it have?” They loved it and did a great job!

Next we brought out scripture memory cards and recited ‘easy’ verses together. One of the most beautiful sounds in the world is hearing children recite the Word of God! Nothing will be more important stored in their heart than this! Now when our oldest girl, Bean, tells me she’s afraid of something, I’ll ask her what is something she can do? She will tell me, ‘when I am afraid I will trust in You [God]’ and then she tells me she needs to pray! Halleluiah!

It is amazing and wonderful at how quickly children can learn Bible verses! What are some verses you teach your children when they are young? Children having fun while learning and speaking Scripture is definitely a Finer Thing in life!

This post is linked to Amy’s Finer Things.

2 Responses

  1. Hi! It really is amazing how much and how quickly a child can learn something if it is taught in a fun way!

  2. I need to be better at creating opportunities for my kids to memorize scripture. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

