Moving Sanity Savers

I’m still in the middle of boxes, labeling, sorting, and more boxes! I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but still have a couple days until we reach it! I’ve done a couple things with this move that seemed to have made a positive difference!

1. De-clutter ahead of packing! I don’t think I can stress this one enough! Though, ask me again in Saturday afternoon if I am still standing by that statement. So far, however, it has made the packing process so much easier, albeit a little slower. I knew a couple weeks ahead of time we would be moving. I began the process of going through a box of things here, a drawer there, a cabinet here, a closet of clothes there. Now that it’s time to get into high gear and pack the boxes, they are packing up much quicker!

2. Hire a babysitter for a few hours. We have two levels (not counting the unfinished basement and never used attic). My youngest, Bitty, takes a nap in the afternoon up in her room and when she gets up later in the afternoon, I am usually very busy with all three and fixing dinner, etc. It is almost impossible to do anything upstairs after all three kids go to bed at night so I am left with mornings to try and work on organizing and packing the upstairs. So, to make things a little eaiser on me (and my kids) I hired a babysitter for four mornings this past week and a half. My task those four mornings was to get the upstairs ready (literally) to go! Success! Just about EVERYTHING upstairs is now downstairs in boxes, or is really to go immediately! Well worth the pennies spent! The kids were able to have a great time playing with someone who is not stressed out and I didn’t have to resort to the glowing-tube babysitter which always puts my kids in a bad mood afterwards (go figure).

3. Devotional time. This was was the hardest, but it shouldn’t have been. It’s hard to sometimes justify taking out just 10-15 minutes for ME to read my Bible and Pray. There’s things to do around the house and quickly, right? Well, that 10-15 minutes really make it go smoother. I can start the day and tasks with a much clearer head, heart and attitude!

The result? I am happy to report the packing is going very well (still not as quickly as I would like, but does it ever?) and I have hardly snapped at my kids and hubby! Until Saturday, I am more than happy to accept any sizable donation of chocolate for extra sanity boosters! 🙂

Leave a Reply

