Having a bad day?

Ever have a day where you have a really hard time keeping a good attitude and patience?  I had one of those today.  Ok, confession–I’ve have lots of those lately!  Three o’clock came today and I knew something had to change!  ME!  I prayed the Lord would renew my attitude and give me wisdom on what to do–even just for the next minute!  At that moment, I looked up and saw the sun was shining and heard kids playing outside.  That was all I needed!  I told the kids we were going to bundle up and walk the block to the park!  Boundless excitement rattled through our home as they hurriedly got their winter gear on.  I was even getting excited at the prospect of being outside for a few minutes in that sunshine (even if the temp was 28 degrees).  I loaded up the double stroller with the youngest two and got ready to push the stroller with our oldest when my hubby came home EARLY!  THANK YOU JESUS!!  The kids, of course, were just as excited to see him as I was and proudly told him we were walking to Huntley Park!  Well, he locked up the car and offered to push the stroller so I could walk hand in hand with our oldest!  We had a lovely family walk to the park and played in the 12+ inches of snow at the park and on the playground equipment!  I felt rejuvenated!  Spending some positive time with my kids (instead of the barking and reprimanding somewhat grouchiness that had been happening all day it seemed), having hubby home early and getting some fresh air was just what the doctor ordered!  Now the house is quiet and I think I’ll pull out the ONLY book that can really renew me:  my Bible!

A family outing and time in the Bible–this definitely works for me!  This post is linked to Works For Me Wednesday hosted at We Are That Family!

4 Responses

  1. Looks like a wonderful outing… I’m sure the family time and fresh air were priceless 😉

  2. We do that from time to time too. It’s a great way to change a day.

  3. Hi. Just stopping by from WFMW to check out your site 😀

  4. I think we all have days where we cry out to the Lord for help. Glad your walk was the medicine your soul needed!

Leave a Reply

